RSS Feed

The Zombie Apocalypse

Anyone who knows me even remotely well knows that I love zombies.  I have spent all year building paper zombies from a calendar and posting the pics on my facebook page.

I will watch any and all zombie related flicks and I’m currently engrossed in the TV series, The Walking Dead.  If you’ve been living under a rock and haven’t heard of it, here’s a taste:

I enjoy the show but one thing is beginning to stick in my craw.  It’s been months since the zombies overran the cities.  Various groups of survivors have banded together to fight them off in order to stay alive.  But some characters still react and behave like this is all new to them.  One woman in particular, Andrea, wails and screams every time she is beset by a ravenous zombie like it’s the first time that’s ever happened.  Really?!?

Thankfully it’s not the only way women are portrayed on the show.  In fact, in the last episode when Andrea was screaming like a bitch (yeah, I said it), it was another woman on a horse who strode in and dispatched the zombie with a baseball bat.  Thwack!  I am looking forward to finding out more about her.

This brings me to what this blog is actually about – survival.  What I love most about zombie movies is that there are no good guys or bad guys.  Zombies are the horror equivalent of a good disaster scenario.  Zombies are the asteroid, the earthquake or the spiders that overrun your town and cover it in cobwebs (hands up who’s seen Kingdom of the Spiders).

Thinking about survival had me finally take a book off my shelf and begin reading it.  Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies, and Why by Laurence Gonzales takes a look at both the people who survive extreme situations and those that don’t.  It examines several factors that go into how people react when accidents happen and how they survive, or don’t, if lost in the wilderness (or the tundra or the ocean or wherever we weren’t really meant to go but do anyway).

I just read a paragraph that had me see why I’m so annoyed with Andrea—she doesn’t behave the way I think I would behave in the same situation.

“As William Faulkner wrote in Lights in August, ‘Man knows so little about his fellows.  In his eyes all men or women act upon what he believes would motivate him if he were mad enough to do what that other man or woman is doing.’”

We don’t root for the good guys in zombie flicks, we cheer on the people who act and react the way that we think we would if we were facing down the hoard of mindless eating machines.  That’s why my favorite character on The Walking Dead is Daryl (played by Norman Reedus).  He’s a redneck with a crossbow.  I probably wouldn’t like this guy here in the normal, civilized world, but if the shit hit the fan, I would gladly follow him anywhere.   He’s a real TCOB kinda guy.

Think about who you want to survive the next time you watch a zombie or disaster flick, and I’m pretty sure it’s the person you think deserves it; the person you think you would be.  Would you deserve to live?

Have a Happy Halloween!!!

My zombie love knows no bounds.  I even have a book of Zombie Haiku and I will share one with you.

Brains, brains, BRAINS, brains, brains,

Brains, BRAINS, brains, Brains, BRAINS, brains, brains,

Brains, Brains, brains, BRAINS, BRAAAINNNNS!

One response »

  1. “Send more cops.” 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

