RSS Feed

Time’s a wasting

If you’ve been following me from the beginning, you may remember I spoke of being an aspiring screenwriter who needed to do something else for a while, hence the blog.  If not, that just summed things up.

I hit a wall, not with my writing but with Hollywood and filmmaking in general.  I’d hit that saturation point where I’d seen one too many sequels, one too many films based on books or comics, one too many remakes and just had no desire to throw my heart and soul into writing something original.

The straw that broke the camel's back.

Writing this blog has kept the creative juices flowing and an idea has finally struck me as worthy of my time and attention.  I know a few people who will rejoice upon hearing this.  It is something to celebrate.  I still don’t have a lot of hope that my original screenplay will ever be committed to film, but I don’t care.  The story excites me and I want to write it.  That’s all that matters.

I love genre films and I’ve been trying to come up with something that will be a mash-up of some of my favorite types of films.  I’ve hit on something but I will say no more.  This is my baby, and it must be allowed to develop before anyone gets a whiff of what it’s about.  When it’s complete, I’ll be happy to share all the fun, gory details.

I just wanted to use this as a starting point for today’s blog – doing something because you love it, regardless of whether or not it will ever produce any wealth or success for you.

Remember being a kid?  You tried all kinds of things just to try them.  You put forth so much effort building things and experimenting, none of it for reward or recognition.  I learned to sew because I wanted more doll clothes.  I ended up making my own prom dress in high school.  I don’t sew for money but I still enjoy it tremendously.  And it’s definitely not cheaper than just getting ready-made clothes in the store.

And it's a lot more work too!

I had gotten so caught up in screenwriting as a means to an end that I’d forgotten what I enjoyed about it in the first place.  That happens to a lot of us.

It’s okay to step back from something when you can’t figure out why you’re still doing it.  It’s also valid to admit when you no longer want to do it.  And it’s cool if you decide after some time away, you’re excited again.  Life isn’t judging you, only you are.

You don’t need other people’s validation to do something.  You may not be particularly good at it but if you feel like singing or dancing or writing or whatnot, do it to your heart’s content.  Life has become far too commodified for our own good.

They say “Time is Money” and if our time is not being well spent then we judge it as not being a worthwhile thing to do.  I say fuck that.

I say do one completely pointless and wasteful thing at least once a day.  You’re not a robot.  You don’t exist to “produce”.  Remind yourself that being alive is its own reward and the time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.

Still one of my favorite time wasters.

I plan on wasting lots of time writing a new script.   What are you going to do?

 

Leave a Reply

