RSS Feed

My Top Ten Films of 2011

Every year, a friend of mine sends out his Top Ten Films of the year and requests people send their lists back to him.  With the Oscars deciding what they think the best film of the year is this weekend, I think I’ll throw in my two cents.

The best films and the films you enjoy the most are not always the same.  Never be ashamed of what you like (unless you like reality TV, haha).

Here are my top 10 films of 2011.

10. Bridesmaids – cause girls can be just as raunchy as guys.  Plus, everyone is beginning to love Melissa McCarthy as much as I always have.

 

 

 

9. Hanna – a tight, taut action thriller with an ass-kicking teenage Saoirse Ronan in the lead and Cate Blanchett playing a chilly villain.

 

 

 

8. Drive – slow paced, atmospheric for much of it with bursts of action and violence.  Ryan Gosling can do anything and he always looks good in the process.

 

 

 

7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part Two – a spectacular finish to a well-loved series.  I will miss looking forward to the next one since there won’t be anymore.

 

 

 

6. Rango – an odd but hilarious animated film that is part western homage and part trippy fish out of water tale.  Johnny is quirky even as a CG chameleon.

 

 

 

5. Hugo – this is a wonderful film that was even better because I didn’t really know much about it going in.  Not Scorsese’s normal fare but since he is such a lover of film, I can see why he chose this.

 

 

4. Midnight in Paris – the Woody Allen I love is back and in fine form.  This is a charming fable and a love letter to the roaring 20s.

 

 

 

3. Attack the Block – love, love, loved this film and the kids protecting the block from alien gorilla mutherfuckers.

 

 

2. The Artist – although this is not the first time I’ve seen Jean Dujardin, it did cement the mad crush I was developing on him from the OSS: 117 films he did a few years ago.  Charming, funny and poignant with a spectacular final performance from Uggie the dog.

 

 

1. The Muppets – if you know me, you knew this would be my number one film of the year.  Saw it 3 times in the theater and loved it more each time.  I will never stop loving the Muppets and Jason Segel did right by Jim Henson.

 

 

You are what you love, not what loves you (Adaptation, 2002).  As I look back over these films, I can see that what I’m drawn to most is fun and whimsy.  I love films that leave me feeling all warm and fuzzy or with a feeling of completeness.

What’s your Top Ten look like for 2011?  What are you looking forward to most in 2012?

Leave a Reply

