RSS Feed

Lottery Fever

Posted on

Today’s the day that someone could get a whole hell of a lot richer.  Could it be you?  Could it be me?  I may have less than a 1 in 175,000,000 chance but you can’t win if you don’t play.

You can say that about a lot of things in life, I guess.  You can’t find a relationship if you don’t ask someone out and make yourself available.  You can’t get the job you want unless you throw your hat into the arena.  You can’t take control of your life until you do exactly that.

Whenever I buy a lottery ticket, I love spending the days before the drawing daydreaming about how I would enjoy my winnings.  I’ve always had a love of traveling and that’s what I would do.  I’d become a rolling stone going from country to country seeing and doing all of the things I’ve always wanted to do.

Ever since college, I’ve been building this epic trip, The Beer and Art Tour of Europe.  Sounds pretty self-explanatory but perhaps you want me to elaborate.  I’ve always loved foreign beers and art.  I was an art major in college and took many art history classes.  My dad instilled a love of art in me from a very young age and my first ambition upon entering college was to become an art museum curator.  A year or so later, I found the film department and that was all she wrote about that.

So the trip would entail my only being able to consume the domestic beers of the country I was visiting while touring all of the great art museums across Europe.  Let’s face it, they did steal most of the best art from around the world in the past 500 years or so.

I have to visit art museums whenever I travel.  Painting, sculpture, photography and all of the mixed media enthrall and mesmerize me.  I’ve never forgotten this film I saw on cable when I was young called The Hideaways (based on a book called From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler).  A couple of kids hide out in an art museum at night.  I might have to rent out one and do just that when I strike it rich too.

There are beaches I want to lounge on and mountains I want to climb (really only one, Kilimandjaro).

There are historic sites I long to visit and some Great Pyramids too.  And if it becomes feasible, and I have enough left, I want to be launched into space, just like Richard Branson is about to make possible.  And according to a little research, “The ticket price for the initial trip is $200,000 and Virgin Galactic is in the final stages of its test flight operations. The company plans to begin running flights commercially next year.”  Chump change.

If I win the lottery, I’ll still blog.  I’ll just be doing it from somewhere in the south of France or perhaps while orbiting the Earth.  Bon chance and Live Long and Prosper!  And daydream to your heart’s content.  That’s always free.

Leave a Reply

