RSS Feed

May the 4th Be With You.

Posted on

Today is the unofficial Star Wars day.  It’s the day we celebrate our love for that galaxy far, far away.

I remember the first time I was indoctrinated into the clash between the Empire and the Rebel Alliance.  In 1980, my dad took me and my brothers to see The Empire Strikes Back.  We missed the opening crawl, so the first image I remember is the snow-covered surface of the planet Hoth.

I instantly loved this movie and it remains my favorite of the entire series.  My brothers got the action figures for Christmas and I preferred them to most of my own toys.  They weren’t technically my toys, but I didn’t care.

We (I mean my brothers) never got any of the vehicles or creatures and I always wanted an AT-AT.  It was probably a latent desire for the toys I never had that turned me into a collector later in life.  I’ve been buying toys since the late 90s from Star Wars and other childhood loves.

About a decade ago, I curtailed my Star Wars acquisitions to just one character, Boba Fett.

Yes, I know he’s the most popular character and it makes you wonder.  But I think he’s a favorite for many different reasons.  Have you ever thought about why something is your favorite?

I have always been drawn to people who follow their own inner motivations rather than what the outside world demands of them.  Many of these people become criminals, such as the Italian mafia.  Some are outcasts and outsiders who can work with others if necessary, like Wolverine from the X-Men, but never really become a part of the group.

Boba Fett is not a good guy or a bad guy.  He only works for the Empire because they pay better.  His mystery is what makes him so fascinating.  You can imagine him being so many different ways.  And how you imagine him says more about you than it does him.

The original series of films had far more nuance and realism of character than the more recent sequels.  Han Solo was a smuggler who shot Greedo in cold blood.  He was a self-described scoundrel.  But he stepped up when his friends needed him.  Darth Vader found his own buried compassion when one of his offspring was in danger of being killed.

I don’t know where I’m going with this except to say I love all things Star Wars and May the Force Be With You.

Leave a Reply

