RSS Feed

An Examined Life

Posted on

I’m sure you know the old Socrates quote, “The unexamined life is not worth living.”  Or perhaps, “Know thyself.”

Most people neither want nor care to learn anything meaningful or useful about themselves.  They spend most of their schooling learning about other people, places and things.  In college and trade schools, they learn what to do with all of this knowledge of the outside world.  But they’ve missed out on the most amazing adventure of their lives – who am I?

If I told you I have a pretty good idea of who I actually am and even told you what I know, you really wouldn’t get it.  The point isn’t in the answer to that question, it’s in the experience of getting to it.  The experience of you getting to your answer to that question.  That’s the adventure.

Sometimes I wonder what kind of life I would be living if I was more caught up in temporal things like money, fame or success.  But alas, that life, at least this go around, was not meant for me.  I kept hearing the siren’s song of seeking Truth and was led down one dead-end after another.

It’s all relevant in the end, and completely and utterly pointless.  You just can’t see it from your side of things.  That’s why they call it the Gateless Gate.  It’s that door you think you can’t see beyond and that won’t open for you until one day it does and then you turn around to see how far you’ve come, and it was never there to begin with.

You are the gate.  There is no You.

I just made up my first Zen koan.  Chew on that.

At one point, I thought perhaps I would use this blog to write about my experiences seeking, but I find I have no predilection for teaching people.  However, I am happy to send you on your way.

If you’re ready to have your mind blown and your life blown up (and make no mistake, no one is ever ready for these things), then pick a starting point, any starting point.  Here are a few I can recommend.

Beyond Theology by Alan Watts

Ismael by Daniel Quinn

Prometheus Rising by Robert Anton Wilson

Breaking the Godspell: The Politics of Our Evolution by Neil Freer (Introduction by Zecharia Sitchin)

Spiritual Enlightenment: The Damnedest Thing by Jed McKenna

Happy Trails to you.

 

Leave a Reply

