RSS Feed

Opinions and Assholes

Posted on

For most of my life, I thought my surname was of a French/German origin.  Well, my family recently did some digging and discovered our ancestor came from a small village in Switzerland.  Hmmmm.  That explains a lot of things.  I am neutral to a fault.  I get into very few fights and disagreements.  I have an almost pathological need to see everyone’s point of view.  I also keep secrets like a Swiss bank.

I think it’s okay to be angry, but I try to make sure I’m angry about the right things.  Anger takes a lot of emotional energy and I’m usually exhausted after a good bout of it.  I can’t imagine what it must be like to be one of those people who seem pissed off all of the time about every stupid little thing.  No wonder so many people have health issues.

Emotions and opinions are not real, people.  They are momentary flashes in your body or mind in reaction to a situation and then, if allowed, they will dissipate.  You are a lightning rod for them but they are not you.  You are not your emotions or opinions.  You have emotions and opinions.

I watch so many people lose their shit when their feelings or thoughts are not given whatever proper respect they think is due.  If you’ve never seen this happen before, all you have to do is go on the comments section on ANY website and watch it play out.

I’ve learned how to talk to people with differing opinions and feelings about things.  I’ve also learned when to stop talking to these people.  When I know that the conversation is heading towards a positional stand-off, I shrug and walk away.  Let’s agree to disagree and move on with our lives.

This is what the world needs a little more of these days.  You see it in religion, in politics… hell, you see it in discussions about movies and books.  I constantly see people getting into violent arguments about things that are essentially their opinions.  For any confusion that might be occurring here, let’s define “opinion”:

o·pin·ion

noun

1. a belief or judgment that rests on grounds insufficient to produce complete certainty.

2. a personal view, attitude, or appraisal.

3. the formal expression of a professional judgment: to ask for a second medical opinion.

4. Law . the formal statement by a judge or court of the reasoning and the principles of law used in reaching a decision of a case.

5. a judgment or estimate of a person or thing with respect to character, merit, etc.: to forfeit someone’s good opinion.

Note that the words “truth” or “fact” do not appear in any of these entries.  Are you willing to die for something that “rests on grounds insufficient to produce complete certainty”?  Many people have.  People kill each other over opinions.

Religion is just an opinion.  Political leanings are just opinions.  You don’t have to agree with me on those but if you don’t, I will direct you to the above definition (the first line).  The world is willing to self-implode for opinions.  Ain’t life grand?

Want to get off this crazy merry-go-round?  Stop identifying with your opinions or feelings.  Stop acting like they are real or have any value or merit.  You have an opinion and I have an opinion and the planet is round.  That’s all.

Or better yet, opinions are like assholes.  We all have one and they are all full of shit.

 

Leave a Reply

