RSS Feed

The What and Why of It All

I’ve had a few conversations this week with friends and loved ones that have led me to surmise that people look at the world with one of two questions in mind: What or Why?  Most people generally focus more on one than the other and it can often be a source of confusion or conflict.

What-focused people have a more scientific outlook.  They want to know what is happening, what is causing that and what can we do.

Why-focused people have a more philosophical outlook.  They want to know why did you do that, why is this happening and why are we here.

There’s no right or wrong way to be.  It takes all kinds.  I’ve always found it interesting to look at how life, the world, humanity, etc. occurs for other people.  I know that we don’t all have the same point of view, and we aren’t interested in the same things.  That’s a beautiful thing.

Recently, I’ve learned that I’m more of a What person.  I like to take stock of what is happening and I don’t seem to be so concerned as to why it’s happening.  My basic premise is “Shit Happens, Deal With It” so asking why just seems like a lot of mental masturbation to me.

I don’t think I was always this way.  I was more interested in “why are things this way?” when I was younger.  I was interested in philosophy and read books that inquired into the origin and meaning of things.  Somewhere along the way, my “why?” got answered.  So now all there is for me to see is the “what”.

Someone else can take up the mantle of “Why?” for me.  I gladly pass it on and look forward to what you discover.

Leave a Reply

