RSS Feed

That’s just the way it is

Some things will never change.  That’s just the way it is.

Oh, but don’t you believe it.

happy new year

Happy 2013!  I have returned to my blog.  Hope you will too.  I don’t know what this year will bring and I like that.

So what’s been on my mind as of late is the idea that people don’t really change.  Not really, deep down.  We spend lots of time, money and effort to change but often end up with the same shit, different day.  We got 99 problems but a new outlook on life ain’t one of ‘em.

Day after day, I hear people proclaim how much they’ve changed, how different they are and then I watch them go through the same motions.  They get upset about the same things.  They fall back into the same patterns.

I have always wanted to believe that people can change, really want to change and eventually will change.  If we are to survive the mess we’ve created (or the one that has been handed to us), we’re going to have to change… and quickly.

But how can we change who and what we are if we don’t really know what that is or what we would like to become?  This is the crux of the matter.  If change is only in reaction to a problem, it will be superficial and probably not lasting.

Someday we may change the energy we use if we either run out of fossil fuels or other sources become more cost-effective and profitable.  But at some point that may end up creating a new problem to solve.

So in order to get off of the Problem-Reaction-Solution merry-go-round, it’s time we start asking ourselves, “What kind of world would I like to create?  What kind of world would I like to live in?”

That’s exactly what I intend to do this year and in this blog.  And as a great man once said, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.”  That great man was Gandhi and he was a huge influence on another great man that we are celebrating today, Martin Luther King, Jr.  Then someday perhaps MLK’s dream will come true.

Here’s looking at you, kid.  What’s your dream for the world?

rev_dr_martin_luther_king_jr

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really
    enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back someday.
    I want to encourage continue your great writing,
    have a nice afternoon!

    Reply
  2. continuously i used to read smaller articles which as well clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading at this
    place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

