RSS Feed

Thank a feminist today!

Posted on

Today I share my birthday with International Women’s Day.  Gladly.

I consider myself a feminist and I truly believe that deep down, everyone is (unless you really enjoy suppressing and controlling women, I guess).  The concept of feminism, however, has been bandied about like it’s some kind of crazy, man-hating moniker.  If anyone knows me, they know I love men.  Giggity!

You don’t uplift women by suppressing men.  And if you do, YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG!

The world has been lopsided and unfair for millennia.  It doesn’t have to be this way.  All ethnicities, cultures, genders, sexual orientations… all the things that make us who we are, belong here on this planet and should be treated thus.

To all of the hard work, sacrifices, suffering and pain (emotional and physical), and even death which has afforded me more opportunities than I am even aware of, I am eternally grateful.

Thank you suffragists, thank you bra burners, strikers and marchers.  Thank you mothers and grandmothers, sisters and aunts.  Thank you visionaries for seeing the world from the future and helping the rest of us get there.  Thank you feminists, both female and male.

I know we are still fighting for equal pay and reproductive freedom (and even freedom from fear and bodily harm in all parts of the world).  The path has been laid out and the end game is clear.  If Thomas Jefferson were alive today, I believe that first line would read, “All humans are equal, and thus have the same rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.”  Simple and inclusive, just as life should be.

My kind of princess.

My kind of princess.

Leave a Reply

