RSS Feed

What Price Peace?

I was lying in my bed this weekend, listening to the soft breathing of my significant other and feeling rather pleasant when all of a sudden thoughts filled my head of all the things that could possibly go wrong in life.  It can’t always be this good, right?

ripples

Then I stepped outside of the maelstrom and wondered, where did all that nonsense come from?  I’m pretty centered and peaceful in general, and I know that life is uncertain but so what.  That shit felt like it had been planted there and I had a good idea who did it.  All the shit we watch and read and absorb every day, all of it seems designed to force us to take a side, feel an emotion (usually fear or anger), and it doesn’t add one iota to our lives.

I love to be informed, but I despise when someone attempts to cause me to feel an emotion I wouldn’t normally choose.  You can’t make me feel afraid or angry or guilty without my consent but I will resent the hell out of you if you try.

So that’s when I decided I should take a mini-break of sorts with media.  I don’t want to read any more articles for anything that has a decided scare-tactic slant.  I don’t think this will make a slight bit of difference in how news gets presented, but I guarantee the less of that shit that gets in my head, the happier I’ll be.

I don’t need to know the latest news, gossip or bit of trivia.  And if it disturbs my calm, then I’m better off without it.

Feel free to be concerned that I will miss some important piece of information but I doubt it.  I doubt my life will be diminished in the slightest if I don’t read about some murder, rape or event that happened nowhere near me and that I can do nothing about.  This may be a good way for me to discover if there is anyone out there whose only goal is to inform the public, and then allow the public to form their own opinions about the information presented.  Novel idea, eh?

not-listening-chimp

I’m starting to feel better already.

Leave a Reply

