RSS Feed

Henson nostalgia

If he were still alive, Jim Henson would have been seventy-seven on September 24th.  That was also the day a new biography about him was released.  I got it on my Kindle and took a look at it this weekend.  I didn’t even make it through the prologue before the tears started flowing.

It feels weird to think this way, but his death had a more profound effect on me than any other I can think of (including people I’m related to).  The fact that I still get choked up over the death of someone I never met and who has been gone for over 20 years is amazing.

I grew up with Sesame Street and The Muppet Show.  I saw The Dark Crystal in theaters.  And even though I was probably a little older than the target audience, I watched every bit of Fraggle Rock.  When something gets into your psyche at a young age, it gets ahold of you.  These can be good or bad experiences, but they become a permanent part of who you are.

I think what had me tear up as I read about Jim doing a Kermit bit in the prologue was that there would never be anything new from him ever again.  His children still run his company and I thoroughly enjoyed the new Muppet film but something was lost forever back in 1990.  That’s just the truth of it.

If I had the power to resurrect any one person that has ever lived, I can’t think of anyone else I would choose.  Not one leader or writer or brilliant scientist.  Just him.  I wonder what that says about me?

Who means that much to you?

kermit

2 responses »

  1. Hunter S. Thompson. ‘Tho I wouldn’t bring his rotten ashes back for sex, booze or money. If he wants to finish this conversation, he’ll have to creep through my dreams. x

    Reply
  2. I remember when Dr. Seuss died. I was in college and I wore black. I totally get the sentiment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

