RSS Feed

The More Things Change

Plus ça change, plus c’est le même chose.  Or for those who didn’t take high school French – The more things change, the more they stay the same.  As I watch this over-the-top political battle in Washington, D.C. play itself out, I can’t help but think how little progress we’ve made as a species.  Mostly in regards to our ability to think and reason.

Humans are an emotionally driven lot.  Don’t let anybody tell you differently.  Even the most thoughtful, reason-loving person can be reduced to pure emotion in the right circumstances.  Put enough stress and fear-causing conditions on someone and they lose all ability to think clearly.  They can be manipulated to do all kinds of things that are not only against their better judgment but also against their best interests.  I knew this truth a long time ago.

I remember when I was in high school watching people on talk shows debate heated topics.  Regardless of position, I just couldn’t listen to the person screaming.  They just sounded crazy.  It didn’t matter if I was initially more on their side, by the end I could have been swayed by the Devil himself if he stayed calm and rational and made a better argument.

You cannot sway me with an emotional argument.  You cannot make me afraid so that I will agree with you.  I remember what the exact moment was that I chose Barack Obama over Hillary Clinton in the primaries — her 3:00am commercial.

Don’t you dare try and use fear on me.  I will drop you like nobody’s business.  If they do that shit when they are trying to get elected, don’t doubt that’s how they will do it when they get the job.

I’m not holding out too much hope for change in the very near future but hopefully the behavior of our current elected officials might make people THINK a little more when going to the polls the next time.  I’m tired of being swayed to vote for someone out of fear that the other person might get the job.  It’d be really nice to get to choose a candidate because I think they will do a better job.

I’m bored with the circus.  I’m hoping more people are too.  Washington, D.C. has been jokingly called Hollywood for ugly people.  That’s not too far off the mark.

2012_09_24_Chast_Carnival-1.5sec

 

Leave a Reply

