RSS Feed

Movin’ on up?

ed-moving-boxes_480

It has been over a decade since I’ve had to put everything I own in boxes and haul it somewhere else.  The prospect of moving both excites and paralyses me.  For one thing, I will be paying more in rent when I move regardless of how much nicer the place is.  I’ve grown accustomed to my budget and I’m not looking forward to having to be more frugal than I already have to be.  But that’s not the thing that causes me the most anxiety.  It’s my stuff.

When I was in college and shortly thereafter, I lived a more nomadic-type life.  I’d move every six months to a year once a living situation wore out its welcome or I moved away from that location altogether.  A move requires purging.  It’s part of the whole process.

I haven’t moved in 12 years.  Any purging I’ve done in that time has only been on a small scale.  A quick and easy donation to Goodwill.  A clothing swap or two.  But I will really have to get serious about offloading the chaff because I am not just living with a roommate now.  I’m sharing my space with my husband-to-be.  He needs some space for his stuff too.

We’ve just casually begun looking, to get an idea of what’s out there.  And what we’ve discovered is, you can’t just like a place.  Your stuff has to actually fit in it.

I thought I had a basic layout of an apartment but they really do come in way too many shapes and sizes.  What fits in my bedroom doesn’t necessarily slip into another one with ease.  It all depends on how much of the room is occupied by closet doors and windows, where the door is in relation to these.  And what the fuck is the point of a fireplace in Southern California?  I maybe turned my heat on twice last winter and that’s because my current apartment is a bit drafty.  It doesn’t get so cold here that a pair of socks and flannel pajamas can’t handle it.

This is going to be an adventure, to say the least.  We both have to be happy with the space, the amenities and the location.  Older buildings aren’t as accommodating to the new home entertainment set up regardless of how charming they look.  And what is up with only giving one parking spot with a 2-bedroom apartment?  This isn’t the 1950’s!

I know we’ll be successful because thankfully we agree on the basics.  And when we’re all settled in and ready, we’re going to get a couple of these cuties.

kitties-in-box

Now all I have to do is figure out how to get rid of a bunch of action figures that nobody seems to want these days.  Guess, I had a bit of a habit that finally ran its course.

10-pc-set-Austin-Powers-Movie-DVD-action_57

 

Leave a Reply

