RSS Feed

It’s a New Year!

Dec. 31, 2008

Dec. 31, 2008

When the calendar flips over to a new number, it often causes people to take stock of their lives.  Where have I been and where do I want to go?  The one thing that I’ve been made acutely aware of in the last few weeks is how quickly life can turn on a dime.

Sometimes these changes can be fun and exciting, exactly what we had been hoping and striving to bring about.  For me personally, I moved into a great new apartment over the holidays and I will be getting married in a few months.  But with some of the changes I’m witnessing in the lives of those around me, I’m feeling a little bit sad.  It puts a little bit of a damper on my ability to fully enjoy my current good fortune.

I am aware of so much loss and fear around me.  Cancer diagnoses (yes, I mean several), loss of jobs and businesses, relationships ending and even one suicide that I’ve still not completely processed and accepted.

I have no words of wisdom and I don’t feel like making any statements to put a positive spin on any of this.  I’m just being aware of all of it.  This is life.

Whatever you’ve been going through in 2013 can change on a dime, for better or for worse.  Don’t take any of it personally, though.  I don’t believe the Universe picks sides.

Well, maybe sometimes it does.

Well, maybe sometimes it does.

Leave a Reply

