RSS Feed

Pick Your Poison

Posted on

This morning, the city of Los Angeles was awoken en mass by a noticeable quake.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day to us!

And this was the gift that keeps on giving. 🙂

This is about the time when those people who don’t live in L.A. start acting like earthquakes are the worst and they are so happy they live wherever they live.

Shit happens all over.  All told, I think L.A. is a pretty safe and awesome place to live.

I grew up in Houston and we dealt with hurricanes, tornadoes and flash floods.  A lot more often than I’ve experienced earthquakes, I might add.

Try waking up to this instead.

Try waking up to this instead.

I lived in Toledo, Ohio for a few years and I never want to live where it snows ever again.  Driving on snow and ice is far more nerve-racking than 5 to 10 seconds of intense shaking.

I will take the god-awful traffic and the “Big One” lottery over just about every other option.  The payoffs are 300 days of sunshine and flip flops almost year round.  So much to see and do, all within about an hour’s drive.  That’s what I pay more for, dammit!

And while I know I will be freaked out and hating life during a real glass breaking shake, the little ones are kind of thrilling and fun.  That few seconds of uncertainty and adrenaline – do I get up or will this just be over in a second?  That’s what was running through my head at 6:30am.

If you don’t like your circumstances, these types of events are great opportunities to re-evaluate and decide if where you are is where you want to be.

i love la

 

Leave a Reply

