RSS Feed

I Can’t. I Just Can’t.

Posted on

I generally pride myself on being the kind of person who takes pains to understand other people’s thought patterns and points of view.  I’ve trained myself to not jump to conclusions whenever something unpleasant happens.  This affords me a clearer head in order to deal with things and solve problems.

But sometimes, the stupid… IT BURNS!

I think as I up my output, I will have a weekly blog entitled “The Burning Stupid” and share with you all highlights from the week which you can look over and then go about your day.  I do this public service so your head doesn’t have to hurt too.

Today in The Burning Stupid, Michele Bachmann opened her mouth and the stupid came pouring out.

WASHINGTON — A House bill to establish a bipartisan commission on the creation of the first national women’s history museum might sound pretty noncontroversial — but it has deeply upset Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.).

“I rise today in opposition to this bill, because I believe ultimately this museum that will be built on the National Mall, on federal land, will enshrine the radical feminist movement that stands against the pro-life movement, the pro-family movement, and pro-traditional marriage movement,” Bachmann said on the House floor Wednesday ahead of a vote on the bill.

“As it’s currently written,” she added, “the legislation lacks the necessary safeguards to ensure the proposed museum will not become an ideological shrine to abortion that will eventually receive federal funding and a prominent spot on the National Mall.”

I won’t post a picture of her face because it’ll just make me want to punch my computer.

What is it with these people and abortion for christssake!?!?  Abortion is a concept that if handled properly would be a minor affair that happened in relatively few circumstances — rape, incest and the life of the mother.  The pro-life stance is not about life.  It’s about control – plain and simple.  People who believe that abortion should be illegal want to control how others behave.  They take no steps to minimize the need for abortion apart from telling other people not to have sex (i.e., control how others behave).

Don’t give me your empty concern about all the aborted babies.  It’s a load of hogwash.  You don’t give a fuck about the women, so keep your fucking concern about the babies out of it.  To be pro-life is to be pro-ALL-life.  Stop picking and choosing… just like you do with the Bible scripture and the Gays.

WomensEquality

If a woman isn’t excited about a museum being established to celebrate the contributions and accomplishments of women, and instead just sees it as having some bullshit agenda to push abortion, then she needs to have her woman card revoked.  Stop it already!  Go away Michele Bachmann.  You have nothing to say that contributes to the betterment of humanity.  Have the decency to stop talking altogether.

You, Michele Bachmann, you and Phyllis Schlafly and Sarah Palin and your kind… You are why I need Feminism.  I need women to know that they have options in life.  They can be mothers and housewives or they can be CEO’s and politicians.  They can be whatever the hell they want to be.  And I need Feminism because I know the world is a better place when women are free to make those choices about their lives.

And whether you know it or not, you need Feminism too.  Perhaps the word itself seems limited in its scope.  Feminism has never been about tearing men down.  It has only been about lifting women up.  Creating the level playing field we all claim to be in support of.  If paying a woman the same salary as a man for the same job is something you don’t want, then you really need to re-think your basic philosophy of life.  Feminism is Equalism.

I am an Equalist!  You may say I’m a dreamer.  Well, I’m not the only one.

http://www.feminismisequality.com/

206px-Igualtat_de_sexes.svg

 

Leave a Reply

