RSS Feed

Bored No More

Posted on

Oh the things you will see on any given day on the internet.  I found this little video amusing but also quite thought provoking.

I almost can’t remember reacting like that to anything.  Our brains are amazing things but once they have too much stored in them, the first thing to go is wonderment.

Brains are a sophisticated predicting machine of sorts.  Pattern-recognition and stored experiences made so many things we take for granted possible.  I know when I see an open flame not to stick my hand in it.  I didn’t know that the first time but I learned it quickly enough and now it’s not likely I could ever voluntarily check to see if fire is hot.  My brain predicts that it will be and I believe it.

I can be taken by surprise now and again and that’s why I can relate to the kid’s experience.  Nothing quite beats a ‘Holy fucking shit that was awesome!’ moment.  I think we seek them out when we take something to the extreme (with sports, drugs, sex, even religious or spiritual seeking).  I was looking for a quote to go along with this inquiry and I found this:

Isn’t history ultimately the result of our fear of boredom? — Emile M. Cioran

These days people equate contentment with boredom.  Doing the same old thing over and over becomes rote.  There are times when I get completely bored with the mundane tasks of house cleaning and personal hygiene.  Why can’t things just stay clean?  Ugh!  This again?

I imagine, on a deep subconscious level, we look forward to and even create conflict because we fear boredom.  Wars are pretty exciting, no?  Not only do we engage in them, we make movies and TV shows and write books and articles about them long after they’ve ended.  There is always some confrontation occurring somewhere on the planet at all times.

Perhaps it’s not that we can’t get along.  Perhaps it’s because we don’t really want to.  That would eventually get boring.  Whether we want to admit it or not, we might have the thought that Peace is dull.  We even joke about Heaven (the ultimate place of peace and bliss) being one long snoozefest.  Who wants to sit around playing harps all day?

2009-08-27-heaven

Maybe if we ever outgrow our fear of boredom then we’ll finally give peace a chance.  But not until we truly get bored of all the fighting.  Then the calm will the the most exciting thing ever.

Leave a Reply

